Skip to main content

 

The Quebec Aboriginal Science and Engineering Association (QASEA)

and Université Laval welcome you to

the Québec Indigenous Science Fair 2022

 

March 22-24, 2022

The event's theme is Science in Action with Indigenous People.

 

The theme is inspired by « Université Laval in action with the First Peoples  » (in French)

The logo was inspired by the log of École Wahta' in Wendake and the arms of the Huron-Wendat Nation .  

 

The four colors represent :  

  • the 4 nations (black, yellow, white and red)
  • the 4 directions (east, south, west and north)
  • the 4 elements (fire, water, air and earth)

The artist

Manon Sioui

Manon Sioui is a self-taught multidisciplinary artist from Wendake who has been working in visual arts since the late 1980s. She draws all the inspiration for her creations from the culture of her ancestors. Active in the art world since her youth, she has already had several exhibitions in Quebec and in several major Canadian cities, such as Montreal, Ottawa and Toronto. She has also exhibited her art in France, Germany, Denmark, Switzerland and Italy. One of her pieces has been on permanent display at Vatican City since 2002, and many of her works are in the collections of the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec and the Musée de La Rochelle in France.


Over the years, Manon Sioui has participated in several sculpture and logo competitions, including the logo for the Hôtel-Musée Premières Nations de Wendake, based on two of her works. She also actively participated in the realization of the fresco of the Wendat people, which can be admired on the wall near the Kabir Kouba waterfall, in Wendake, with the group Murale Création, as well as in the realization of the fresco for the 400th anniversary of Quebec City and the one in Trois-Rivières.


Some of his corn doll montages are exhibited in France. A model entitled La vie au village is on permanent display at the Wendake Museum. She has written and illustrated several children's books, in collaboration with the Hannenorak publishing house. Manon also gives various workshops on making corn dolls, on weaving and braiding corn leaves and on making wampum. Some of her work has appeared on television shows.

 

 

Thank you to our partners:

Skip to main content

L'Association québécoise autochtone en science et en ingénierie (AQASI) et l'Université Laval vous souhaitent la bienvenue à ...

 

L'Expo-Sciences Autochtone Québec 2022

 

22-24 mars 2022

Le thème retenu pour l’événement est Science en action avec les Premiers Peuples / Science in Action with Indigenous People.

Le thème est inspiré du plan d’action « L’Université Laval en action avec les Premiers Peuples  »

Le logo est inspiré du logo de l'École Wahta' de Wendake et les armoires de la Nation huronne-wendat.  

Les quatres couleurs représentants :  

  • les 4 nations (noirs, jaunes, blancs et rouges)
  • les 4 directions ( est, sud, ouest et le nord)
  • les 4 éléments (le feu, l’eau, l’air et la terre)

L'artiste

Manon Sioui

Manon Sioui est une artiste multidisciplinaire autodidacte de Wendake, qui évolue dans le domaine artistique depuis la fin des années 1980. Elle puise à même la culture de ses ancêtres toute l’inspiration de ses créations. Active dans le milieu des arts depuis son jeune âge, elle a déjà plusieurs expositions à son actif au Québec et dans plusieurs grandes villes du Canada, telles que Montréal, Ottawa et Toronto. Elle a aussi exposé son art en France, en Allemagne, au Danemark, en Suisse et en Italie. L’une de ses pièces se trouve en exposition permanente à la Cité du Vatican depuis 2002, et bon nombre de ses œuvres font partie des collections du Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec ainsi que du Musée de La Rochelle, en France.
Au fil des ans, Manon Sioui participe à plusieurs concours de sculptures et de logos, dont le logo de l’Hôtel-Musée Premières Nations de Wendake, réalisé d’après deux de ses œuvres. Elle prend part également activement à la réalisation de la fresque du peuple wendat, qui peut être admirée sur le mur près de la chute Kabir Kouba, à Wendake, avec le groupe Murale Création, ainsi qu’à la réalisation de la fresque du 400e anniversaire de Québec et de celle de Trois-Rivières.
Certains de ses montages de poupée de maïs sont exposés en France. Une maquette intitulée La vie au village est par ailleurs en exposition permanente au Musée de Wendake. Elle a écrit et illustré plusieurs livres jeunesse, en collaboration avec les éditions Hannenorak. Manon donne aussi divers ateliers sur la confection de poupées de maïs, sur le tissage et le tressage des feuilles de maïs ainsi que sur la confection de wampum. Quelques-unes de ses œuvres sont apparues dans des émissions de télévision.

 

Merci à nos partenaires: